Our Governors

Mission Statement

Our goal is to work in partnership with pupils, parents and staff to encourage all children to achieve their full potential by developing a thirst for learning and providing the highest level of education in a nurturing environment.


Governors have considerable responsibilities – we don’t exercise them as individuals but work as part of a governing body – a corporate team.  We do not manage schools, this is the role of the headteacher and senior leadership team, but we do oversee the development of the school, the main aim of which is always to provide a high standard of education for all pupils of all abilities.

The governing body has three main roles:

STRATEGIC - This sets the general direction of the school, looking at how it should best develop.  This is done by reviewing and agreeing policies, targets and priorities and monitoring and reviewing aims and objectives.

CRITICAL FRIEND - The governing body works with the headteacher to create a clear understanding of the challenges faced in managing the school.  The governing body should feel able to question and challenge and this is achieved through trust and mutual respect

ACCOUNTABILITY - A school is a business and its stakeholders are the pupils.   The governing body has a professional attitude and uses its collective skills to benefit the pupils.  It gathers views and asks questions to determine what is best for the school.   The governing body is answerable to parents and wider community.


The Governing Body for Talavera Junior School comprises of Co-opted Governors including representatives from the local community, staff and parents:

Amanda Webb - Headteacher

Sam Kirk – Chair of Governors

Clare Litwin – Co-opted Governor
Maria McClure – Co-opted Governor
Lee Tottman – Co-opted Governor
Caroline Hart - Co-Opted Governor
Maria Gilfoyle - Co-opted Governor
Ami Johnson - Co-opted Member
Heather Partington - Staff Governor
Robyn Jarrett - Parent Governor
Nathan Hastings - Parent Governor
Leanne McDermid - Associate Member
David Shaw - Associate Member
Yubaraj Gurung - Associate Member
Nicola Smith - Clerk to Governors

The governing body is actively seeking full representation from all stakeholder groups, and welcomes interest from anyone wishing to make a contribution to governance at Talavera. New governors are offered training and mentoring through a comprehensive induction program, so there is no need to have had any previous governor experience. If you have the passion and enthusiasm to make a difference at Talavera, then please register your interest with the school office who will be pleased to arrange an introductory conversation with one of the governors.


Our Full Governing Body meets once every half term on a Tuesday evening starting at 6.30pm. Meetings last no longer than two hours. We have also established both a Curriculum/Standards Committee and a Resources Committee. These committees focus on key operations of the school which allows the Full Governing Body to take a more strategic overview of School Improvement to help support it’s growth and development. The resources committee has delegated responsibility for both financial and human resources issues as these aspects of the role of the governing body are closely linked together. Similarly, the curriculum and standards are linked together so that a dedicated committee of governors can focus on the issues that enable the school to implement its strategy.




Our Governors each take responsibility for a core area of the School Improvement Plan. In their role as a governor they challenge and support the development of the particular strand. This involves visiting the school, seeing the strand in action, analysing data and looking at the impact within the area.

Areas of School Improvement Plan 2019 - 2020 and link governor:

Raising Attainment for All - Maria McClure, Cheryl Cluness, Maria Gilfoyle and Clare Litwin

Leadership Culture - Lee Tottman, Caroline Hart and Sam Kirk

Community Hub - Ami Johnson, Lal Gurung, David Shaw and Heather Partington



 Parent Governors Application